Suspended License Charges
Suspended license charges most commonly refer to a crime called *aggravated unlicensed operation of a vehicle*, or AUO. In the past, AUO was considered a violation in New York City, not a crime, which means that many New Yorkers committing AUO may not even realize that they are breaking the law. However, intentional or not, AUO charges can lead to financial penalties, jail time, and even a felony on your record. A felony conviction can complicate or even eliminate future opportunities for employment and housing.
If you are facing charges of AUO, you need to retain a skilled New York City suspended license charges attorney immediately. Queens Criminal Defense Lawyer aggressively defends residents of New York City, and has a record of success to prove it.
Aggravated Unlicensed Operation in the 3rd Degree
In New York City, aggravated unlicensed operation (AUO) crimes are handled by Section 511 of the New York Vehicle and Traffic Law Code. Under Section 511, it is AUO in the 3rd Degree when an individual operates a motor vehicle (whether car, motorcycle, or commercial vehicle) on a public highway, while knowing that their license or privilege to drive has been suspended, revoked, or withdrawn.
Unlike the many misdemeanors which are given letter grades based on severity, AUO in the 3rd Degree is considered an *unclassified* misdemeanor. But there are still severe penalties, including:
- a minimum fine of $200, and a maximum fine $500
- up to 30 days in prison
The court may sentence the fine only, the jail time only — or both. It should also be noted that, if the motor vehicle weighs over 18,000 pounds, the fine range increases to $500-$1,500.
Aggravated Unlicensed Operation in the 2nd Degree
AUO in the 2nd Degree follows the same definition as AUO in the 3rd Degree, with the added points that either:
- the individual has a previous conviction of AUO in the 3rd Degree, from within the past 18 months
- the suspension or revocation of the individual’s license resulted from a refusal to submit to a BAC test
- the suspension of the individual’s license was a mandatory suspension resulting from a DWI with a BAC of 0.08% or greater
- it is the individual’s third (at minimum) license suspension resulting from failure to appear in court and/or pay fines
Like AUO in the 3rd Degree, AUO in the 2nd Degree is also an unclassified misdemeanor — but the penalties are more severe. They include:
- a minimum fine of $500
- up to 180 days in prison
Aggravated Unlicensed Operation in the 1st Degree
Under New York V.A.T. Law Section 511, a crime is considered AUO in the 1st Degree when:
- it is AUO in the 2nd Degree, and the individual is driving while under the influence of alcohol or a drug
- it is AUO in the 3rd Degree, and the individual has 10 or more license suspensions resulting from failure to appear in court and/or pay fines
- it is AUO in the 3rd Degree, and the individual is under permanent license revocation
AUO in the 1st Degree is classified as an E Felony in New York City.
- a fine ranging from $500-$5,000
- up to four years in prison
If you or someone you love is facing allegations of AUO in New York City, don’t delay.
If you or a loved one has been charged with a criminal offence, the consequences of a conviction could change your life forever.
I love Scott he made sure that he explained everything to me and didn't lie to me he made no promises and he told me the goid and bad we all need lawyers to be honest with them he gave my son a second chance in life not only he got my son cased closed but he got it sealed love Scott I will reccomand anyone to him my lawyer for life he's defitnetly worth the pay pricey but worthy
Request an Appointment
Message Sent. Thank you for contacting us. We will be in touch with you shortly.
- State Bar Association
- Queens County Bar Association
- Nassau County Bar Association
- New York City Bar Association
- National Association Of Criminal Defense Lawyers